Low of 59? In January? Really?!

When I looked at the 10-day weather forecast about a week or so ago I saw that it called for a bit of a warm-up this week.  Since 10-day forecasts are notorious for being wrong beyond 3 or 4 days out I didn’t think too much of it.

Fast forward a few days…

A friend and I spent most of this past week working on a job that was mostly indoors but would require us to spend at least part of a day working outside so I kept a good watch on the weather forecast to try to set us up to work outside on the driest, if not the warmest days of the week.  In doing so, still noticed that a warm-up was forecast for the latter part of the week and the lows were predicted to be in the high 50s.  Lows in the high 50s?  In January?  Really?  Sounded like a good opportunity to hang up the hammocks and spend a night in January and not have to be bundled up to deal with temps in the 20s and 30s.  Camping out in January in a t-shirt and shorts how sweet is that?!

Jenna and I hung our hammocks and tarps up in our usual spots in the afternoon…

Setting Up

We both used our winter top and underquilts…but no thermal underwear, fleece shirts and pants, stocking caps or heavy socks were needed to go with them – a very welcome change to January hangin’.  Since rain wasn’t in the overnight forecast I pitched my 8’x8′ Tyvek tarp instead of my bigger tarp.  Alex had to help me untangle my tarp ridgeline…

Alex Helping

Jenna tends to hang a bit higher than me.  Not sure why other than I’ve hit the ground more times than she has and I’m just in the habit of hanging closer to the ground.  Having hit the ground a couple of times, I’ve become a big believer of the importance of the phrase “Never hang higher than you’re willing to fall.”

Uneven

We had to make sure the hammocks were put up correctly…that took a little while…

Testing 1

Testing 2

Alex gave his approval…

Alex Approved

11:30 finally rolled around and we finally decided it was time to head outside, climb in and crash.

Night

As usual, I slept like a rock and apparently Jenna did the same since I she’s still asleep as I put this piece together…

Want to learn more about hammock camping and hammocks in general?  Check out the Hammock Forums at http://www.hammockforums.net/?  While you’re there check out Shug’s Hammock Camping Basics videos on this thread:  http://www.hammockforums.net/forum/showthread.php?t=15516

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

