Munzee Funzee

Yeah, I know, the title is cheezee, too cheezee.  I’ve spent most of the afternoon trying to come up with a catchy title for this piece and I’ve drawn a complete blank.  Some days are just like that.

So after discovering Munzees week before last, I’ve wanted to give it a serious try, a test drive of sorts, to see if it’s something we’re really interested in doing.  I had a pretty good idea already but, if you’ll allow me one more car cliché, I like to try it before I buy it.

Connie and I had a few errands to run and ended up having a little time to kill yesterday before picking Jenna up from a school trip so I talked her into hunting a few munzees with me.  Earlier in the day I’d done a little online searching in the areas I knew we would be in to see if there might be any munzees about.  I noticed a cluster of ten in a relatively small area near the shoe store Connie wanted to visit.  A peek at the aerial photograph in the Munzee website revealed the cluster to be situated in a grocery store parking lot, a Publix parking lot to be specific.

We pulled into the parking lot and spotted the first two tags before we had a chance to stop the car.  In this case, nine of the ten munzee tags had been stapled to trees in the landscaped islands in the parking lot.  Needless to say, it only took a few minutes to find and scan all nine.  The tenth was a little trickier, being stuck to the back the propane tank cage in front of the Publix store.

One difference I’ve learned between Munzee and geocaching is that Munzee is all about the numbers where geocaching (supposedly) is not.  In Munzee you not only keep track of how many tags you find and scan, you also are awarded points for both hiding munzees (deploying them in Munzee-speak) and finding them.  Also, finding different types of hides earn differing amounts of points.  Is one formula better than the other?  Not in my opinion.

Not being completely convinced I took Jenna out to hunt a few this afternoon.  The half dozen we found were a little more challenging.  In addition to a couple on trees and in bushes we found a couple stuck on the back or park benches…

Bench

Jenna Scans

And on the backs of metal signs…

Swing

Sign

Since Jenna and I both thought it was fun we decided to drive it home.  Best of all, it could be had at a price we like…free.  OK, free as long as you have an internet connection and a smart phone and a data plan and a car and gas for the car and…  Well, maybe it’s not completely free but it is still a lot of fun and it’ll get you outside the house.   Give it a try.

This entry was posted in Geocaching, Munzee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

