When the Cat’s Away…

The mice cook things the cat doesn’t care for.  Tonight’s adventure…Shrimp Sliders.  ConnieLou doesn’t care much for shrimp.  Me, Jenna and Ashley, on the other hand, are shrimp fiends.  I went through a phase that I didn’t care much for shrimp myself but sometime 10 or 15 years ago, my taste for the little buggers came roaring back in a big way.

I saw the recipe for Shrimp Sliders a few weeks back on Necessary Indulgences, one of the Big Green Egg blogs I read regularly and they just sounded way too good.  Since ConnieLou is off with her best bud Linda tonight, me and Jenna decided we’d give ‘em a try.  I printed off the recipe and we headed off to Publix this afternoon to get the goods after Jenna finished up her Saturday work day for the spring musical at her high school.

Once back home I went ahead and mixed everything up and shaped the sliders so they could chill in the fridge for a little while.

Patties

 I followed the recipe and instructions reasonably closely but to me, recipes are more like guidelines (Pirates of the Caribbean movies fans will get the reference).  I add more or less of whatever is on the recipe and often substitute other things to suite my own tastes.  Needless to say, I can ‘cook’ quite well but I suck at baking where a recipe is more like a formula in chemistry class and must be followed with some degree of precision.

Cooking was pretty simple…about 4 ½ minutes per side, direct on a raised grid at 350 degrees and they turned out just right.

Patties 3

Plated

Put ‘em on a slider roll, add a little wasabi mayo, pair it with your favorite beverage (tonight it was a Boulevard 80-Acre Hoppy Wheat for me) and some chips and you’re good to go.

This entry was posted in Big Green Egg. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When the Cat’s Away…

  1. griffinsgrub says:

    Those have been on my to-do list for years, but somehow keep getting skipped over. Think I need to bump them back up to the top again. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • dppoppers says:

      Jason, be sure to find yourself some fresh Gulf shrimp. We got started late and ended up having to use imported shrimp. The sliders were good but to me the flavor seemed off from where it should have been. They also seemed to be a bit sweet for my tastes…I’m not quite sure what caused that.

Leave a Reply

