Nevermore…

Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As if someone gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door…

No wait…just rain on my tarp… my mistake.

The intro to Poe’s ‘The Raven’ couldn’t be more appropriate here. Until last night I haven’t had a chance to give my new bug net a proper overnight test drive. We’ve had a lot going on over the weekends and there just haven’t been many chances to hang out lately. When those opportunities have presented themselves overnight thunderstorms were often in the forecast.  Last night held some promise. Rain was in the forecast but no lightening and we were actually home early for the evening. The only catch, it was already raining…getting hammocks and tarps hung up without getting soaked might prove difficult.

By dark the rain had largely stopped and I decided that even though rain was in the forecast for most of the rest of the night, I was going to hang anyway. That’s what tarps are for, right? I asked Jenna if she wanted to go too and to my surprise she chose to stay inside.

Setting up a hammock with this type of bugnet, or any bugnet that completely encloses the hammock, can be a bit of a pain. Fortunately, I left my hammock in the bugnet and rolled the whole thing up when I took it down after my quickie afternoon bugnet test last week so setup wasn’t a problem this time around.

I finally climbed in around 11:30 and settled in for the night. It was simple enough to get in the hammock through the opening in the bottom of the net. Once in I had plenty of room to wiggle around and the net had enough give that it wasn’t pressing against my legs and feet so that they were uncomfortable.

Inside

I was surprised to find that it wasn’t terribly stuffy inside given the material it’s made of. In his how-to video, CRYPTICCricket made the claim that the material is not only bug-proof, it’s also tough and cat-proof. We confirmed that claim early this morning when our cat Alex unsuccessfully tried to jump in with me a couple times. I finally held the bottom open and convinced him to come in the proper way.

Alex

All in all, I’m quite pleased with the bugnet. As for worrying about getting munched by skeeters in my hammock in the future…Quoth the raven, “Nevermore.”

This entry was posted in Backpacking, bug net, bugnet, Camping, Hammock, Hammock Camping, Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

