Growing Up is Overrated…

I turned forty-nine the other day and I’ll admit it, I still like playing with my toys. OK, I’m not talking about Lego’s or Hot Wheels cars. No, I’m talking about big boy toys…like knives and guns and backpacks and fishing rods and other such things.

One of the benefits of birthdays is that one often ends up with a little extra cash that is expected not to be spent on paying bills or buying necessities but, instead, is to be spent on something fun…like toys. This year was no exception. I had a little birthday money burning a hole in my pocket and I was having a heck of a time deciding what to do with it. It wasn’t enough to retire and move to the Caribbean but it was certainly enough to find something fun to play with. I had several really good ideas but couldn’t decide which one to choose. I finally got my inspiration from a post by my buddy Randy V. on Facebook. He’d just pulled the trigger, literally and figuratively, on a new air rifle. Not a BB gun like a Daisy Red Ryder, but a nice break-barrel pellet rifle. Now I love to shoot and a nice air rifle has been on my want list for quite a few years. By coincidence, I was looking at the air rifles at our local Academy Sports store just before Christmas and was thinking that it would be a lot of fun to have one. So I decided “What the heck, Randy is older than me and if he’s not too old for an air rifle then then I’m not either!”

Once I had decided on my general ‘what’, it was time to get down to the nitty gritty and come up with a more specific ‘what’. My budget narrowed the selection considerably and it was narrowed further by eliminating pump-up pellet rifles and BB guns. Normally I like to buy from a local specialty shop if possible but gun shops, particularly good gun shops, are getting harder and harder to find these days and good gun shops that carry air rifles in my price range just don’t seem to exist close by. As I wrote this post in my head I intended to say something at this point like “‘so back to Academy Sports I went with a list narrowed to five or six models and home I came with a Gamo Big Cat 1250 and a couple of tins of pellets”. However, I decided to take another look at Academy’s website and noticed that they had that model on sale for $30 less with free shipping. Now I don’t normally like ordering stuff like this online but that thirty bucks was enough for a couple of tins of pellets and a cleaning kit…I pretty much had to do it.

gamo-big-cat-1250-177-caliber-air-rifle

So I placed my order and the waiting began…and I waited…and waited…and waited some more. If you ask ConnieLou she’ll tell you that I’m not all that good at waiting. I’m not really impatient, but anticipation just gets the best of me sometimes. Try hanging around me the week before vacation or a camping or fishing trip and you’ll understand.

OK, so it was only two days until I came home from work and my package was waiting for me beside the front door.

Box

Needless to say I didn’t waste any time opening the package to get to the prizes inside…or should I say the prize inside…

Box 2

But…wait…what happened to the other stuff? There should have been a couple of tins of pellets and a cleaning kit in the box too. As it turns out, one of the two cans of pellets was back ordered.  The cleaning kit and other tin of pellets were to be shipped separately, not with the rifle. What’s up with that? It’s not like there wasn’t any leftover space in the box with the rifle. Heck, there was enough room for another rifle and then a bit of room to spare. So why weren’t the pellets and cleaning kit shipped with the rifle? The world may never know. Fortunately I was able to pick up a tin of pellets locally so I didn’t have to wait several more days, weeks or months for the rest of the order to arrive and to actually be able to shoot my new air rifle.

So was it worth all the wait and anticipation? Oh yeah. So far I’ve killed a few of cat food cans and punched holes in some paper…

Target

Have a little ways to go to get it dialed in tight but that group isn’t too bad considering I was shooting from a wobbly rest on a rolled up towel. Guess this means I’m gonna have to build a proper shooting bench and make up some sand bags for the back yard.

Yeah, I’m having fun here. For what it’s worth, growing up is overrated. Fortunately I’ve heard that if you don’t grow up by the time you’re fifty you don’t have to…I’m almost there!

This entry was posted in Air Rifle, Gamo, Pellet Gun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

