Chicken Marinade No. 37

It was time for a new chicken marinade. We’d used the buttermilk marinade I previously described several times and it time to move it down in the rotation and try something new. I spent a little quality time on Google looking for possibilities. I found a good candidate on allrecipes.com, checked to make sure we had all the ingredients and then ran the ingredient list by ConnieLou and the girls. Everyone agreed that it was worthy of a try.

The recipe itself was called “Marinade for Chicken”. Not exactly a creative name but it sounded pretty tasty. According to the original recipe the marinade should be good for about 3 pounds of chicken. I only had about a pound of chicken cutlets to work with so I cut the recipe by half. Actually I could have cut it by half again and had plenty but instead I put some in a container and popped it in the fridge for next time. Since we’re not big salt users and since the Worchester and soy sauce both have a fair amount of salt in them I left out the additional salt that the recipe called for altogether. Also, based on a couple of comments I substituted apple cider vinegar for the red wine vinegar.

I put the chicken and marinade in a ZipLoc bag, sealed it up, squished it around to get the chicken good and coated and set it aside to let the marinade do its thing for a couple of hours. I cooked the chicken at about 350 degrees with a raised direct setup.

We tossed a few ears of corn on the Egg to go with the chix.

Corn

I let the corn cook a few minutes then tossed the chix on the grill.

Chix

ConnieLou made a pitcher of sweet tea and some broccoli while the chicks and corn cooked.

Done

It all made for some fine eatin’. Think we’ve found another keeper…

This entry was posted in Big Green Egg, Grilled Chicken, Marinade. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

