Wings Again?!

Yep…again. Wasabi Honey Teriyaki Grilled Chicken Wings to be more specific. I noticed a recipe for the marinade/glaze last week on the Big Green Egg Facebook page. According to the recipe it was intended for chicken thighs but as I read through the recipe it occurred to me that would work just as well for wings.

The recipe called for prepared horseradish and wasabi powder, both of which can kick up the heat level in a recipe so I decided I better save this one to try when I could just cook a few for myself. As luck would have it, ConnieLou and Jenna are in Colorado visiting with her niece Julie and her little boy, Noah and her baby girl, Abigail and Ashley was off this evening to have dinner with one of her friends. Needless to say, it was wings night for me.

Last night I set a package of wings out to thaw and mixed up the marinade. I stuck mostly to the recipe but substituted Mirin, a Japanese rice wing for cooking, for the sake that the recipe called for. The thawed wings went into the marinade this morning and then on the Egg this evening to cook. As usual when I grill wings, the Egg was set up with a plate setter for indirect cooking with the temperature stabilized a little over 350. I flipped the wings after about 30 minutes and painted ‘em with some of the marinade that I had reserved after 40 and sprinkled on some sesame seeds.

Wingz 1

After another flip, baste and sprinkle of seeds the wings were done and ready for the table…

Winz 2

How did they turn out? Pretty darn good if I do say so myself. Imagine the braised chicken wings that you get at a Chinese restaurant but with a a smokier flavor from the charcoal. The horseradish and wasabi weren’t even noticeable and added no heat at all…a bit disappointing for me but they’ll go over well with ConnieLou and the girls.

Ashley had asked me to save her one or two if they were good. I hate to have to tell her this but there were no survivors.

This entry was posted in Big Green Egg, Chicken Wings, Grilled Chicken, Grilled Wings, Marinade. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wings Again?!

  1. Muddy mum says:

    Looks lush. I’m the worlds laziest cook. I get serious food envy! 😁

Leave a Reply

