A Different Sort of Adventure…

The MacMillan (on-line) Dictionary defines an adventure as “an exciting, unusual, and sometimes dangerous experience”. I’ve never been to a wine tasting so this was definitely an ‘unusual’ experience for me…and it was a bit ‘exciting’ to do something different and somewhat out of my comfort zone. As for dangerous…well, sometimes just getting out of bed in the morning these days can be dangerous so we’ll claim it for good measure.

Each year Main Street Newnan hosts more than a dozen different events in downtown Newnan, all aimed at getting area residents to visit Newnan’s Court Square and the immediately surrounding area.

Courthouse

Some events are annual events, some occur a couple of times a year and others are monthly or weekly. To tell the truth, we haven’t been very good about enjoying any of the downtown events since we’ve lived in the Newnan area. Like many folks these days, we’ve had a lot going on and sometimes we only realized something was happening in town when we read about it afterward in the local paper. Here lately, something has sparked an urge to get out and do something different…something unusual, for us anyway. Wait…did I say unusual? Maybe for…an adventure?

A week or so ago I overheard Ashley and ConnieLou talking about the Summer Wined-up, the annual wine tasting in downtown Newnan. Ashley’s friend Austin from YHC was coming into town for a few days and she mentioned to him that it might be fun to go. OK, I have to go off on a bit of a tangent here. It’s sort of a weird feeling when you realize that your first born is 21 and is now of legal drinking age…and is interested in going to a wine tasting. I’m still trying to wrap my head around that one. Anyway… the next morning, ConnieLou sends me a text asking me if I wanted to go. I responded that I thought it would be fun and the next thing I knew I received another text letting me know she had bought tickets for us. It was a good thing that we bought our tickets early as the event completely sold out prior to the day of the event.

Fast forward to Friday night…

After a really fun hour and forty-five minute ride home from work, we changed clothes, piled in the car and headed to town. We checked in at the registration table and got our ‘Over 21’ wrist bands…

Over 21

And our commemorative glasses…

Goodies

And our program and map…

Program

One of Newnan’s Finest was on hand to check our IDs to make sure we were legal. I couldn’t help but be a little bit amused as I don’t exactly look like I’m anywhere near 21 anymore, much less under 21. I haven’t been carded in years. Yeah I know, they were just obeying the law and checking everyone…but it was still amusing.

We checked out the program and map, decided which way to go first and then we were off…

Planning

Winos

Twenty-nine downtown businesses stayed open late to host the event. More than 30 different wines ranging from typical reds and whites to specialty blends and even mimosas were available for tasting. It was easy to tell that this was somewhat of a high-brow event as there wasn’t a bottle of MD 20/20 or Boone’s Farm to be found anywhere.

Mimosas

Most of the host businesses provided hors d’oeuvres to accompany the wines. The hors d’oeuvres generally consisted of cheese cubes and crackers and chips and dips but there were a couple of notable standouts. Meat ‘n Greet, a specialty burger restaurant just off the Square served up pimiento cheese sliders, The Alamo, a bar on the Square served pizza squares from Fabiano’s, located next door and Let them Eat Toffee, a specialty candy shop on the Square served samples of their candies.

Samples

Wines and munchies weren’t the only things on the agenda. There was a free jazz concert in the nearby Wadsworth Auditorium as well as the “Horses, Trains and Pick-Up Trucks, All Roads Lead to Newnan” art installation on the Square.

Art - Horse

Art - Truck

Art - Train

I kinda liked this particular train…

It took us about two hours to make a complete circuit then we wound up at Fabiano’s for supper. During our little adventure I learned a few things. First, I still don’t like red wines. I haven’t found one that agrees with my palette yet. Chardonnays…too dry. Moscatos…mostly too sweet. Pinot Grigio…these I like, not too sweet, not too dry. The mimosas…a fun switch! And the jalapeño-infused muscadine wine, well, let’s just say it was interesting, it wasn’t bad, but it’s certainly not something I’d want very often. All in all, I’m still not much of a wine guy. Craft beers are more my speed…and Oktoberfest on the Square is just a few short months away!

For more information about the Summer Wined-up and other Main Street Newnan events, check out their website at http://www.mainstreetnewnan.com/

This entry was posted in Main Street Newnan, Newnan, Summer Wined-up. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Different Sort of Adventure…

  1. Muddy mum says:

    I’m not a wine drinker – it makes me screw up my face in a real unattractive way 😖 😉
    As an event that looks great fun though, would be a really fun way to explore a new town.

  2. Pingback: Fabiano’s (Revisited), Newnan, Georgia, June 12, 2015 | Eat Out!

Leave a Reply

