A Different PATH

Some of my blog entries are planned in advance and some just happen. This morning when I left for work I had no real intention of doing or seeing something that would be blog worthy. All I planned to do was spend the morning at a jobsite doing some preparation for some work that’s supposed to start tomorrow, hopefully finding a quick cache to fill up an empty space on my 366-day grid, then head to the office for the rest of the afternoon. It was the ‘finding a quick cache’ part that surprised me.

Earlier this week I took a look at the Geocaching.com website to see if there were any caches close to my jobsite. As luck would have it there was a series of seven along a walking path close by. According to the cache page, the path is known as the Whetstone Trail, which is one of several trails in the Atlanta area developed by the PATH Foundation.

I’ve heard many times that Atlanta still has a lot of trees for a city it’s size, and not just in parks and around residences but also in undeveloped patches of woodlands scattered in and around the city. I’m always sort of surprised when I step into one of those little patches and momentarily forget that I’m inside the city limits. As I stepped onto the boardwalk that carries the Whetstone Trail over a creek and through one such patch of woods I found myself surrounded by a lush green forest, probably no more than 100 to 150 yards wide…but wide and dense enough to hide the commercial and residential buildings on either side in places.

Boardwalk

At first I hurried on toward the cache but as I walked I found myself slowing down to enjoy my surroundings…the bamboo patch, the writing spiders in the grass, leaves with the last of the morning dew still clinging to them. After I found the cache and signed the log I turned around to head back to the car…but this time I was in no particular hurry. As I reached the end of the boardwalk another feature caught my eye.

Rocket

It’s not every day one finds a rocket in the woods. It was obviously part of an old playground but I couldn’t tell if it was part of a former park or just a forgotten fixture in someone’s back yard. If nothing else it was the inspiration for this blog entry. It usually pays to take a different PATH…

This entry was posted in Day Hike, Day Trip, Geocaching, PATH, PATH Foundation, Whetstone Trail. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Different PATH

  1. Wendy says:

    Yep, a path to no where is still a path never taken and those usually are the ones which end up being rare gems in the woods!! Love the pictures!

  2. Muddy mum says:

    Cool rocket! How’s the 366 going? Hard going isn’t it?!

    • mrbream says:

      Not as straightforward as it might sound, thats for sure. Planning involved! Fortunately (or unfortunately maybe) I’m not trying to do it all in one calendar year. I have 270+ days covered and now I’m trying to fill in the blanks. Fortunately I have Feb 29 covered already. One today and I’m off till Sunday.

      • Muddy mum says:

        I decided to crack on when I had 50 days filled! Ha! It’s been epic. I have until Feb 29th to go with only a few days filled here and there. I need today and Tomorrow – then it’s a whole 5 days break. Yeah! After that it’s back to it until I end. So much planning involved. The strange things we do eh?! Good luck with your mission 🙂

      • mrbream says:

        Thanks! DNF’d at lunchtime today. Fortunately I had a back-up in mind for this evening.

  3. sargevining says:

    Trying to get in contact with the owner of this blog. Can you contact me at sargevining@yahoo.com?

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

