Excuses, Excuses…

I was a bit overdue for my Young Harris fix and was looking for an excuse for a visit.

Now to be honest, it doesn’t take much of an excuse to cause me to head up for a visit. ‘Because I woke up and the sun was shining’ is really all the excuse I need. This time around I had a better excuse. Several weeks ago I saw a notice on Facebook from the Young Harris College Flyfishing Club that they were hosting the Fly Fishing Film Tour on Campus in the evening on April 8. I checked my calendar and discovered that April 8 was a Saturday. Needless to say I had to go.

The week leading up went by painfully slow but April 8 finally came around. The dinner, which was included in the price of the Film Tour ticket, was scheduled to start at 6:30 that evening. It’s a 2 hour and 45 minute drive from our house to Young Harris so I left at 9:15 Saturday morning to give myself plenty of time to make the drive and stop for lunch before dinner started.

Maybe I gave myself a little too much time?

Nope.

I rolled onto campus around 12:30.

Perfect.

I spent a short while wandering around campus and visited the college bookstore then went on to check on my lodging for the evening…my super-secret spot nearby where I hang my hammock for the night when I’m up for an overnight trip by myself.

I still had some time to kill before dinner started. Fortunately I had a plan.

During the week prior to my visit I spent some time looking on the Geocaching.com website for nearby caches that might need my attention and noticed the Rivercane Walk Series, a new cluster of caches in Little Brasstown Creek Park, located at the John C. Campbell Folk School in Brasstown, North Carolina, a few miles northwest of Young Harris.

The drive up to Brasstown was a bit bittersweet. As I crossed the state line heading into North Carolina, I noticed that the Border Hop, the last of the three old beer joints (also including Robert’s and Buckwheat’s) that were popular with stu…err, locals back in my college days, had closed. Apparently it had been closed a while as the boards that had covered the door and windows were beginning to fall off. Guess I haven’t passed that way in a while.

Once in the parking lot, I retied my boots and checked out the sign that described the rivercane in the park, a type of giant grass similar to bamboo, and its importance to the Cherokee people who once lived in the area.

The Rivercane Walk winds through the canebrake and hayfields along Little Brasstown Creek…

And is dotted with art installations…

Bridges…

And observation decks overlooking Little Brasstown Creek…

As I walked along I noticed that the gradient of the water flow in the creek had decreased and the creek had widened significantly.

Caution, beavers at work…

And not to be overlooked, there were four caches stashed along the path…

And a fifth was hidden in one of the hayfields…

What? You think I’m going to post spoilers? Think again…

Unfortunately I never found the cache in the hayfield. I know what I should be looking for but just wasn’t ever able to find it before it was time to head back down to Young Harris to catch a few innings of Mountain Lion baseball before dinner and the Film Tour.

Oh, and how was the Fly Fishing Film Tour, you ask? Definitely worth the cost of a ticket…and I brought home a few raffle goodies and a new cap to boot!

This entry was posted in Campbell Folk School, Geocaching, John C Campbell Folk School, Young Harris, Young Harris College. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

