The Adventurous Adventures of Lil Henz II: Chattahoochee Bend Edition

I got a wild hair to take the day off from work. I don’t typically just take a random day off but we were looking at a long weekend for the Memorial Day holiday so I decided to stretch it an extra day. I guess I’ve sort of been needing a sanity day, a day to forget about work and stressful stuff and to recharge a little. Over time I’ve learned that there are two sorts of places that I can get the most bang for my buck, so to speak, when it comes to recharging my batteries. I can spend time on the water and time in the woods. After our little walk on the Pine Mountain Trail last weekend, Little Henz (aka Henry) convinced me that we should go down to Chattahoochee Bend State Park and go for a walk in the woods and he suggested that we take Jenna with us.

We got an early start so we could get started before it got hot and steamy. We grabbed breakfast and a couple of bottles of water on the way down. Once in the parking lot at the Day Use Area near the trailhead, I ate my biscuit while Jenna took Henry to see the river…

With breakfast finished we hit the trail…

We got to check out a new bridge that was built last fall to replace another bridge over a creek that flows fairly deep ravine…

We followed the Riverside Trail to the observation tower where we stopped for a few minutes to let Henry check out the view…

As we walked along I heard the sound of Jenna’s camera shutter clicking away behind me. I wondered what she was taking pictures of…

Well, at least she got my good side…

We hiked on about half a mile or so past the tower to find a couple of caches hidden along the trail then doubled back and headed uphill along the Tower Trail toward the Wild Turkey Trail. Once on the Wild Turkey Trail we had to take a short road walk to cross a creek then headed back into the woods and down toward the beaver pond along a stretch of relatively new trail.

The Bend beavers have been pretty busy and have backed up a fairly sizable pond…

Beyond the pond we made it back to the trailhead where we started. Me and Jenna were still good to go for a bit but I think Henry was pooped and pretty much done for the day…

Little did he know that we had one more cache to find before we headed home…

This entry was posted in Chattahoochee Bend, Chattahoochee Bend State Park, Day Hike, Day Trip, Flagler College, Geocaching, Georgia State Parks, Hiking, Newnan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Adventurous Adventures of Lil Henz II: Chattahoochee Bend Edition

  1. Clare says:

    That name! I wouldn’t begin to know how to pronounce it, but it’s awesome!
    Looks like you guys had a great day together.

Leave a Reply

